Nomination of candidates for October 17 by-elections

The Malawi Electoral Commission is informing all political parties and aspiring candidates that presentation of nomination papers for the October 17, 2017 by-elections will take place on Friday, September 8, 2019 as follows:

  • Lilongwe Msozi North Constituency in Lilongwe District Council  at Mwatibu TDC
  • Mayani North Ward in Dedza District Council at Tchesa TDC
  • Lilongwe City South East Constituency in Lilongwe City Council at Chiwoko TDC
  • Mtsiliza Ward in Lilongwe City Council at Mtsiliza School
  • Ndirande Makata Ward in Blantyre City Council at Makata Primary School
  • Nsanje Lalanje Constituency in Nsanje District Council at Bangula Primary School.

The Commission is further encouraging all aspirants to take their nomination papers to the above-mentioned places for pre-inspection on Thursday, September 7, 2017.

On the nomination day, all candidates and their representatives are asked to stick to their schedule and time as allocated by their respective Returning Officers.

The Commission is also informing all political parties that there will be no provision of nomination by substitution once a candidate is disqualified. In view of this they should ensure that candidates meet all the qualifications under the electoral laws.

Aspiring candidates should also ensure that they have attached to their nomination papers the evidence of deposit of their nomination fees. The fees should be deposited with FDH Bank before presentation of nomination papers.

Nomination fees for male Parliamentary Elections candidates is K200,000 while for females is K150,000. For male Local Government Elections candidates is K20,000 while for female aspirants it is K15,000.

Candidates are also being reminded that nomination papers can be presented on their behalf by their representatives in the event that they are unable to be present during the nomination day. 

Signed this 5th day of September, 2017

Harris Potani